Cornwall Memorial Park has been a longstanding community destination known for it’s diverse recreational opportunities. Centrally located the park offers opportunities to escape into nature with 70 acres to explore. Explore over 1.5 miles of trail, through open fields and down by the creek through a mature forest canopy. Bring friends and family to enjoy a round of disc golf on the 9 hole course that wanders throughout the park grounds or try your hand at tennis or pickleball. If the kids just want to play bring them to one of two playgrounds or in the summer enjoy hours of fun can be had at the splash park. Come join the fun at Cornwall Park.
- Disc Golf Course (PDF)
- Horseshoe Pits
- Multipurpose Fields
- Outdoor Basketball Court
- Tennis Courts
- Pickleball Courts
- Spray Park – open June 15 – September 15, 1 pm – 7 pm daily
- Magnolia Collection
- Picnic Shelters
- Picnic Tables
- BBQ Grills
6 am to 10 pm daily
Location and Map
3424 Meridian Street
There is one shelter available for reservations. Visit the Facility Rental webpage for shelter amenities, rental fees and availability.
There are no upcoming events at this time.
Bruce Cornwall and Bertha James Cornwall Fisher donated 65 acres in honor and memory of their father, Peirre Barlow Cornwall in 1909. Pierre Barlow Cornwall (1821-1904) was a San Francisco industrialist and philanthropist who owned many businesses along the West Coast, including Bellingham.
In the early 1920’s automobile tourism inspired car camping in Cornwall Memorial Park. In July 1925, 806 cars camped at Cornwall Memorial Park. Car camping declined with the depression and ultimately closed in 1927.
Bertha Fisher later donated $150,000 of her estate for park improvements including an entrance off Cornwall Street with a boulevard winding through the park ending at Meridian Street. The boulevard was closed in the late 1980’s for park safety.
The Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.) built the parks early facilities including lawn bowling greens. The Bellingham Lawn Bowling Club built a clubhouse in 1938 which later became the caretaker’s residence and then from 1975 – 2017 the Parks and Recreation Administration Office.
For more information about this park contact the Parks & Recreation Main Office.