Bellingham Historic Places

Roland G. Gamwell House

​​​​​​Bellingham’s past can be seen, felt and experienced through the historic sites, buildings, structures, objects and landscapes that have endured over time. While many of the city’s resources can be considered “historic” (generally, 50 years of age and good physical integrity of original features is the threshold for a resource to be considered historic), as of 2016, there were 49 properties officially listed in the Local, State and/or National Historic Registers, either as individually designated properties or as contributing properties within the city’s eight designated National Historic Districts.

Historic Registers

Local, State and National are the three types of historic register designations, and each offer its own honorary benefits and financial incentives; and in the case of the Local listing, regulatory protections and zoning flexibility.

Bellingham Local Register of Historic Places

The City of Bellingham maintains a Local Historic Register of identified sites, buildings, structures, objects and districts that reflect special elements of Bellingham’s architectural, cultural, archeological, aesthetic and historic heritage.  

Washington State Heritage Register

The Washington State Heritage Register is an official listing of historically significant sites and properties found throughout the state. The list is maintained by the Washington State Department of Archaeology and Historic Preservation (DAHP) and includes districts, sites, buildings, structures and objects that have been identified and documented as being significant in local or state history, architecture, archaeology, engineering or culture.

National Register of Historic Places

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service maintains the Register as part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate and protect America’s historic and archeological resources.